East Central Illinois Basin

Regional water supply planning in the East Central Illinois Basin has focused on the Mahomet Aquifer System and the Sangamon River Watershed within the following fifteen counties: Cass, Champaign, Dewitt, Ford, Iroquois, Logan, Macon, Mason, McLean, Menard, Piatt, Sangamon, Tazewell, Vermilion, and Woodford. The planning effort has been facilitated by the East Central Illinois Regional Water Supply Planning Committee

Recent Publications

Meeting East-Central Illinois Water Needs to 2050: Potential Impacts on the Mahomet Aquifer and Surface Reservoirs

A Plan to Improve the Planning and Management of Water Supplies in East-Central Illinois

Water Demand Scenarios for the East-Central Illinois Planning Region: 2005-2050

Monitoring Networks

Rain Gauge and Observation Well Network in Mason and Tazewell Counties, Illinois

Groundwater Level Monitoring in McLean, Tazewell, and Logan Counties, Illinois

Development of a Sub-network with Automated Data Collection and Retrieval in Logan County

Additional Information

Mahomet Aquifer Consortium

Water Quality in East Central Illinois

East Central Illinois Basin Priority Planning Area


Illinois State Water Survey

2204 Griffith Dr
Champaign, IL 61820-7463

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2018 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois State Water Survey.
Site Map