2002 W.C. Ackermann Scholarship Awarded, Illinois State Water Survey

Press Release

For Immediate Release March 5, 2002
2002 W.C. Ackermann Scholarship Awarded

Debbie Mitchell - (217) 244-5459, Fax: (217) 333-4983, debbie@illinois.edu
Eva Kingston - (217) 244-7270, Fax: (217) 333-6540, eva@sws.uiuc.edu
Jason M. Curl, a graduate student in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) is the 2002 recipient of the William C. Ackermann scholarship, which is administered jointly by the Nature of Illinois Foundation (NIF) and the Illinois State Water Survey (ISWS).

The $1,000 scholarship was presented jointly by NIF Executive Director Nicholas Schneider and ISWS Chief Derek Winstanley at a ceremony held at the ISWS in conjunction with annual staff service awards on February 28, 2002.

The W.C. Ackermann Scholarship was established in honor of Dr. Ackermann, ISWS Chief and UIUC civil engineering professor from 1956-1979. Ackermann's widow Margaret Ackermann and their son Bill Ackermann attended the ceremony.

Curl, a native of Centralia, Illinois, received his B.S. degree from UIUC in May 2001. Upon receipt of his M.S. degree, he plans to concentrate on drinking water treatment technology as a consulting engineer.

| News |

Illinois State Water Survey

2204 Griffith Dr
Champaign, IL 61820-7463

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2018 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois State Water Survey.
Site Map