ISWS Scientists Contribute to Scientific Documents Noted in the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize, Illinois State Water Survey

ISWS Press Release

Original Release December 11, 2007, Updated June 29, 2017
ISWS Scientists Contribute to Scientific Documents Noted in the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize
Kenneth Kunkel and Stanley Changnon - (217) 333-4535, Fax: (217) 244-0220,,
Lisa Sheppard - (217) 244-7270, Fax: (217) 333-6540,

The 2007 Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded to Al Gore and the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) on December 10 in Oslo, Norway. The Illinois State Water Survey (ISWS) is proud to announce that two of its atmospheric research scientists, Kenneth Kunkel and Stanley Changnon, have participated in the activities of the IPCC.

The scientists served as authors, reviewers, or contributors to a series of IPCC reports assessing the state of science and impacts of global climate change. Kunkel and Changnon, who were invited to make these major contributions to these now famous scientific documents, are gratified to be among scientists honored by the Nobel Prize.

The IPCC represents more than 180 governments and operates under the auspices of the U.N. Environment Programme and the World Meteorological Organization.

Changnon, hired 55 years ago as the first ISWS climatologist, takes great pride that he and Kunkel were invited to contribute to such an important scientific document, and notes this reflects on the strength of the ISWS atmospheric sciences program.

Both scientists are also adjunct professors at the University of Illinois: Kunkel in the Department of Atmospheric Sciences and Changnon in the Department of Geography. Kunkel is Acting Chief of the ISWS, and Changnon is ISWS Chief Emeritus.


| News |

Illinois State Water Survey

2204 Griffith Dr
Champaign, IL 61820-7463

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2018 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois State Water Survey.
Site Map