Bondville Environmental and Atmospheric Research Site - Projects, Illinois State Water Survey

Climate and Atmospheric Science

BEARS - Projects


Name Organization Office Project Link  
     
National Atmospheric Deposition Network (NADP) http://nadp.isws.illinois.edu/
Measuring weekly (National Trends Network) and event-based (AIRMoN) precipitation chemistry  
wet deposition of sulfate, nitrate, hydrogen ion, and other cations  
David Gay ISWS-NTN 217-244-0462 dgay@illinois.edu
     
Water and Atmospheric Resources Monitoring Program (WARM) http://www.sws.uiuc.edu/warm/
observing meteorology, databases of IL climate data, monthly summaries and databases of IL climate  
data from 20 stations, flow and sediment load information for 26 IL gauging stations,  
Jennie Atkins ISWS 217-333-4966 jatkins@illinois.edu
     
Aerosol Monitoring - Earth System Research Laboratory (ESRL) http://www.esrl.noaa.gov/gmd/aero/
measuring baseline aerosol optical properties, to determine average conditions and trends,  
also to enables calculation of direct aerosol climate forcing.  
John Ogren NOAA 303-497-6210 john.a.ogren@noaa.gov
     
Surface Radiation Budget Network (SURFRAD) http://www.srrb.noaa.gov/surfrad/index.html
Continuous, long-term measurements of the surface radiation budget over the United States. Up and down  
direct and diffuse solar, photosynthetically active radiation, UVB, spectral solar, and meteorology.  
John Augustine NOAA 303-497-6415 john.a.augustine@noaa.gov
Gary Hodges NOAA 303-497-6460 Gary.Hodges@noaa.gov
Chris Cornwall NOAA 303-497-7316 Christopher.R.Cornwall@noaa.gov
     
UV-B Monitoring and Research Program http://uvb.nrel.colostate.edu/
Geographical distribution and temporal trends of UVB (ultraviolet -B) radiation in the United States.  
measuring UV, UV-B, and photosynthetically active radiation.  
James Slusser USDA @ CSU 970-491-3623 james.slusser@colostate.edu
George Janson USDA 970-491-3621 george.janson@colostate.edu
     
Atmospheric Integrated Research Monitoring Network (AIRMoN-Dry) http://www.arl.noaa.gov/
detection of atmospheric concentration and deposition consequences of emission reductions  
measuring filter-based particulate components, nitric acid and sulfur dioxide  
Tilden Meyers NOAA-ARL 865-576-1245 meyers@atdd.noaa.gov
Lynne Satterfield NOAA-ARL 865-576-3458 Lynne.Satterfield@NOAA.gov
Mark Hall NOAA-ARL 865-576-1233 hall@atdd.noaa.gov
     
Aerosol Robotic Network (AERONET) http://aeronet.gsfc.nasa.gov/
long-term measurements of sky radiance to estimate aerosol phase function, size distribution and aerosol  
optical thickness.  
Brent Holben, CIMEL NASA 301-614-6658 brent@kratmos.gsfc.nasa.gov
Wayne Newcomb, CIMEL NASA 301-614-6634 Wilbur.W.Newcomb@nasa.gov
     
Clean Air Status and Trends Network (CASTNET), EPA http://www.epa.gov/castnet/
long-term measurements of atmospheric gases and aerosols for dry deposition calculations  
measures filter-based major ions, trace metals and carbon, and meteorology  
Kemp Howell MACTEC 352-332-5770 hkhowell@mactec.com
  352-332-6612  
     
Interagency Monitoring of Protected Visual Environments (IMPROVE) http://vista.cira.colostate.edu/improve/
long term monitoring program to establish the current visibility conditions, track changes in visibility and  
determine causal mechanism for the visibility impairment in the National Parks and Wilderness Areas.  
measures bi-weekly filter-based particulate chemistry, optical adsorption, multiple elements, etc.  
Jose Mojica CIRA 530-752-9044 mojica@crocker.ucdavis.edu
Joe Xie CIRA 530-752-4186 xie@crocker.usdavis.edu
     
State of Illinois- Rural Particulate Monitoring
Federal Reference Method 6-day PM2.5 monitoring  
Rob Kaleel IL EPA 217-524-4387 Rob.Kaleel@illinois.gov
     
Semi-Continuous Monitoring of Gases and Particulates (GPIC)  
semi-continuous monitoring of particulate nitrates, sulfates, ammonium, etc., and gaseous sulfur dioxide,  
nitric acid, and ammonia, etc.  
Mike Caughey ISWS 217-333-1611 mcaughey@illinois.edu

Illinois State Water Survey

2204 Griffith Dr
Champaign, IL 61820-7463
217-244-5459
info@isws.illinois.edu

Terms of use. Email the Web Administrator with questions or comments.

© 2014 University of Illinois Board of Trustees. All rights reserved.
For permissions information, contact the Illinois State Water Survey.
Site Map